top of page
  • svp292

Alliance meeting turns awkward ..22.05.2024

We were desperately searching for a match for my younger son. With his marriage slightly delayed, we were both worried and anxious. Many alliances we checked out were not up to our standards, and the one or two we liked were not favorable. Then one day, a bank officer called me to inquire about our requirements and mentioned he would be visiting Hyderabad. Given his respectable background, I was keen to meet him.


The man arrived, and I greeted him with respect and anticipation. However, I immediately found his demeanor to be less than impressive. He was slightly arrogant and self-effacing. Halfway through our conversation, I grew increasingly dissatisfied with his attitude and turned somewhat hostile. He must have sensed this, as I didn’t offer him anything. He asked for water, so I fetched him some, along with a glass for myself. I drank half of my water and left the rest on the tea table. To my surprise, he took my half-finished glass and drank from it too.


Typically, when discussing potential matches, people bring a photo of the girl, and we reciprocate with a photo of the boy. But this man didn't show any photo. Instead, he shared scant details about the girl and was more interested in knowing about my assets. I was not pleased with this one-sided exchange, especially since I presumed he already knew about my standing.


As he probed into my financials, it became apparent he was dissatisfied and puzzled by my lack of amassed wealth. It seemed he couldn’t understand how, with my position, I hadn't become rich. My patience was wearing thin, but I remained polite. He kept insisting on seeing a photo of my son. I was getting annoyed but didn't want to be rude. Finally, after repeated requests, I told him I didn't have any recent photos and brought out a toddler photo from the cupboard. He was aghast and speechless.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page