top of page
  • svp292

Learnings from a grandchild ....07.04.2024

As the days passed, I found myself grappling with my grandchild's unpredictable mood swings. One moment she radiated joy, the next she was engulfed in anger, even rejecting her own identity. It was a constant challenge to keep pace with her emotional rollercoaster.

One particular day stands out vividly in my memory. She was upset, hurling objects and refusing to engage with me. Then, her mood peaked, and she directed her fury towards me, demanding my departure with vehement insistence. Stunned and wounded, I reacted impulsively, letting my own anger surge forth like a raging storm. In my wrath, I fell silent, hoping she would recognize the gravity of her words and actions.

But as the hours passed, I noticed a troubling trend. Despite my withdrawal, my grandchild appeared unaffected, as if my absence made no difference to her. It wasn't until she retreated into herself, muttering about how "jejiyya is bad," that the truth dawned on me. She had borne witness to my outbursts on the phone and my interactions with the household helper, and they had left a profound impact on her tender psyche.

In that moment of clarity, I realized the extent to which my own emotions were shaping her behavior, poisoning the atmosphere with negativity. With newfound resolve, I chose a different path. I softened my tone, replacing my anger with patience, and approached her with empathy and love.

To my astonishment, the transformation was immediate. As I enveloped her in warmth and compassion, she softened too, her stormy demeanor giving way to a tranquil calm. It was then that the profound lesson my grandchild had taught me became clear – that our actions and emotions reverberate far beyond ourselves, shaping the world around us in ways we may never fully grasp.

In the end, it boiled down to a simple truth: the manner in which we navigate the world holds immense significance. And through the innocent eyes of a child, I gleaned a profound insight – that sometimes, the most profound lessons emerge from the smallest among us.

Sharing personal stories or experiences with a machine can evoke vastly different responses compared to sharing them with other humans.

Machines lack emotions and personal judgment, so they'll process the information objectively and respond based on programmed algorithms or instructions.

On the other hand, humans bring their unique perspectives, emotions, and biases to any interaction. Some may react with empathy and understanding, others might find humor or irony in the situation, while some might express disapproval or criticism.


Dr.SV Prabahth

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page